Thank you to all who served last night!

Thank you to all who served in Awana last night.  I know it was a great night of mid-week worship for the entire church family.  I’m looking forward to another great meal and time of worship together next week.

A special thanks to Jessica Aldridge and Jodi McIntosh for stepping in and serving our Puggles and their families.  We had 10 more Puggles than expected last night.  That’s 19 Puggles in all, which is a lot of Puggles.  If you are interested in working with our Puggles on a regular basis, we need two more volunteers due to the high volume of Puggles.

Family Worship Notes from Awana:

Be bold…  Dad, get your best Zechariah going.  Mom, wear a white sheet and belt out the deepest voice you can.  I think Gabriel was a man, except not a man, an angel?

I have never once acted out a skit in front of my kids.  I promise I will try for the first time tonight.  I want to hear about it if it works for you.

The Birth of John the Baptist: Puppet Skit

Zechariah:

Did you know that God keeps his promises?

Zechariah:

My name is Zechariah and I think I know better than most just how faithful God is.

Zechariah:

You see, I was a priest.  That means it was my job to be always praying for God’s people.  I offered sacrifices and burned incense to remind God of the needs of his people — especially their need for forgiveness.

Zechariah:

Well one day I got picked to go into the temple.  This was a big deal.  Only priests could go in the temple and only at certain times of the year and only for certain reasons.

Zechariah:

I was so excited.  It was an honor to get to go into the temple.

Zechariah:

As I was praying that God would forgive the people, something happened I’ll never forget.

Gabriel:

Hello Zechariah!!!!!

Zechariah:

Wooow!!!!  Who are you? (puppet falls back)

Gabriel:

Don’t be afraid!  God has heard your prayer. I am Gabriel, an angel.

Zechariah:

Why are you here?

Gabriel:

God has heard your prayer and your wife Elizabeth will have a son.  You are to name your son John

Zechariah:

That’s not possible.  I’m an old man and my wife… well… well… she’s old too

Gabriel:

I’m Gabriel. God has sent me to you with this message.  What I have told you is true.  You will be silent, unable to speak a word until the baby is born because you did not believe.

Zechariah:

Bahhh!  mmmm!  Whmmmm!

(Gabriel Leaves)

Zechariah:

Sure enough.  Everything happened just the way Gabriel said it would.  Of course I know now that everything happens just the way God’s word says it will happen.

Zechariah:

Elizabeth my wife became pregnant, we had a baby boy, and I knew I had to name him John.  In fact those are some of the first words I said… “His name is John.”

Zechariah:

Blessed be the Lord God of Israel,  for he has visited and redeemed his people.

Read Luke 1:68-79

Who visited and redeemed God’s people?

By Josh C. Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

